Potential Blog Changes

The more I think about this topic, the more I realize how many thing I want to change.  I hastily threw a blog together and didn’t really think things through when I created Alliance Girl.

1 – The Name.
This was so hard and I just settled on an obvious choice.  I didn’t want to write about my Rogue only, but she is my first character and I felt that she should be the spokeswoman for the site, so to speak.  I didn’t want to name it after her in case I wanted to write about complaints or things going on with my server – so I wouldn’t be easily found and flamed.  I’m good at coming up with names for things usually (mounts, pets, cars, other people’s characters, but for myself – meh, I suck.)  I’m not really happy with the name, but I have a total creative block whenever I try to come up with an alternative.  QQ

2 – The Layout.
I am not at all thrilled with this, but out of all the stock theme choices on WordPress, it’s my favorite.  I prefer websites with dark backgrounds and I don’t know nearly enough to custom design a blog like the awesomeness at Tree Bark Jacket (http://treebarkjacket.blogspot.com) or Alterac Volley (http://www.alteracvolley.com). I’ve been toying with the idea of going back to school for Graphic/Web Design and until that happens, I guess I’m just stuck with the theme I have.  Bleh.

3 – RSS.
No one can even see my text in RSS because my font color is white.  Yeeeeeah, didn’t think that through, but I hate the gray default. Grr.  I should just get rid of the option to follow me on RSS.

4 – Subject Matter.
I knew that I didn’t want to only write about Boomba the Rogue since I am kind of an altoholic and love all of my characters.  I don’t have anything important to say that you can’t find elsewhere – so my blog isn’t informative, really.  It’s more just a chronicle of what I’m up to in Azeroth and an archive of things that I’ve done while playing the game that I love.  Lately, I’ve been writing about my Priest a lot more because that’s my main character these days.  I started leveling my 70 Mage recently, so I’ll be writing about her soon.  I don’t really know how to classify my blog other than saying that it’s just a random collection of my own adventures.  I’m wondering if I really should try to contribute something to the WoW Blogosphere…but I have no idea what I could do that isn’t already out there and done better.  I’m NOT a theorycrafter…I hate, hate, hate math and I especially hate it when it’s mixed with my WoW.  I’m not an uber hardcore 25man Disc healer – I actually have fun in raids these days, *gasp*!

5 – Giving Back.
There are so many ridiculously AWESOME WoW sites out there that help people improve in so many different ways…from how to power level a profession, to fishing, to the maximum DPS rotation for any given class, gear min/maxing, boss strats…it’s all out there.  I wish I had a niche – some way to pay back the WoW Community for all they’ve given me over the years.  I just can’t think of anything original to do, lol.  Maybe one day I’ll have something to contribute, but I’m not going to force it.  🙂

~ by Boombaloo on 18 May 2009.

One Response to “Potential Blog Changes”

  1. I’m actually using a free theme myself, if it makes you feel any better. I’ve just heavily modified it. It’s most likely not available on WordPress.com but if you ever switch to your own WP install on your own server it’s available at: http://www.woothemes.com/2008/11/typebased/

Leave a Reply

 
