Love is in the Air…Stinks.

I’m trying really hard to supress my urge to NERD RAGE about WoW at the moment.


I‘m still waiting to get the “All Yours” candy for the completion of the Love is in the Air event that gives the “the Love Fool” title.Ā  I’ve been “trick or treating” every hour on the hour since Wednesday and have received three bags of candy. In the first bag, I got all but two of the candies I needed to complete, “Be Mine!”. I was missing “I’ll follow you all around Azeroth” and “All Yours”. The second bag of candy I got – I pulled the “I’ll follow you…” candy. I got the third bag at 11am yesterday and every single candy was a repeat. I’m still missing “All Yours” and I’d like to kick in my computer screen.


I really want the Violet Proto-Drake…and I stop everything else I’m doing when an event is going on so I can complete it. Luck based drops are epic fail. I spent 12 hours yesterday, logging in every hour trying to get another candy bag to get this done – to no avail. I was so pissed off – I could’ve spent my three day weekend from work doing things that were actually fun instead of logging in every hour and getting disappointed. Not completing the achievement was NAGGING at me in the back of my mind all weekend. šŸ˜¦


I feel pretty dissatisfied with WoW overall lately – this is just another thing to add to the “not happy about this” pile. I’m not allowed to have a personal laptop at work, so I only have between the time I get home from work and the time I go to bed tonight to get the effing candy I need. I’m not really sure if opening a ticket would do anything…I mean if they want it to be left up to chance, then I guess there’s nothing I can do and I really don’t want to be one of those whiney jerks in General/Trade that gets told to “QQ MOAR”…I just find this ridiculous. I more than put the time in this weekend to get this event completed. I should be done with it. :/

Edit 1: Eventhough I hate WoW Insider (long story involving the old WoW LJ community I belonged to) I’m glad to read that I’m not the only one who feels like this.

Edit 2: Came home from work, logged in, and on the first try – got another candy bag (that’s number four if you’re keeping track) got down to the last charge, and I FINALLY GOT IT DONE!Ā  Still pissed as hell that it took four days and that it was completely random, but feel so much better now that it’s off my mind.Ā  Remind me again why I pay $15 a month to be that annoyed at a game?Ā  šŸ˜›

~ by Boombaloo on 15 February 2009.

5 Responses to “Love is in the Air…Stinks.”

  1. @AG: Eh, if the game is that frustrating to you, then you need to reevaluate why you play at all. I personally pass on these type of events as I find them to just be a time sink. Of course, I had to do something similar to gt the Kirin Tor Familiar pet, but at least I knew when to log on and I didn’t have to sit in front of the computer the whole time.

    I have been playing this game since the day it was out on the shelves and I struggle with burnout all the time. I know there are other things I could be doing, but playing WoW is the easy way out, telling myself it’s a social forum, but it’s not the same as being with people in the same room. Talking with toons on a screen or via IM or email, it’s all the same to me. I have to admit, it’s difficult to walk away from a character that I have spent so much time playing, so I just cut down my play time and I am less concerned with the pursuit of purple pixels.

    Hang in there AG!

    • @Markus: You are SO right. I totally agree with you – I do need to re-evaluate (and have been needing to for awhile) but because I really, really, really, really want that violet proto-drake, I have all this pressure during holiday events. I read online that so many people were unhappy about this, that Blizzard caved two days ago and raised the drop rate of the Bag of Candies. I don’t look ahead at the events and had no idea that like Hallow’s End, it’s all luck based whether or not the achievement can be completed. I think that’s really lame.

      In my opinion, if there is something with a low drop rate – the more you complete the task to get the item, the higher your personal chances should be for the item. The only other item in the game that I can solo farm for that I really want is the White Polar Bear mount from Storm Peaks. I’ve been doing the daily for a LONG time and since it has a 1% drop rate, I may never get it…which makes me a sad panda.

      As always, thanks for commenting and sorry to QQ so much – random drops and farming drive me nuts! šŸ˜›

  2. Thank God this over! I never did get the dress or the pet, but I don’t care because like you I’m only doing it for the drake anyway. šŸ™‚

    • @Kyrilean (CasualHardcore): I couldn’t agree more!! That was awful! I’m just so relieved/happy that I’m done with the event and that I have a big break until Children’s Week. šŸ˜€ Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  3. @AG: QQ all you want. It’s your blog after all. šŸ™‚ Besides, I am glad I found it and I enjoy reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

 
